Headline Image

Release Date: May 2, 2013

Nursing Students Inducted Into Sigma Theta Tau's Alpha Chapter

Media Spotlight Media Contact
Person Icon
Susan Sullivan
Director, Office of Communications and Marketing
Call Media Contact

Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus (IUPUC) nursing students were recently inducted into Sigma Theta Tau International’s Alpha Chapter. The Sigma Theta Tau honor society has over 125,000 active members in more than 446 chapters across 90 countries.

Alpha Chapter recognizes members for superior achievements and develops leadership qualities while rigorously fostering high professional standards and working creatively. Its members strive to strengthen students’ commitment to the ideals and purposes of the nursing profession in delivering quality nursing care.

IUPUC’s 2013 nursing initiates include:

  • Jonathan Adams | North Vernon
  • Christina Banks | Greensburg
  • Evin Ehrreich | Seymour
  • Phillip Estep, | Columbus
  • Crystal Featherby | Columbus
  • Holly Gordon | Columbus
  • Joana Samuely | Columbus
  • Hope Shepherd | Franklin

In addition, congratulations are in order for these IUPUC student initiates who were recognized with Alpha Chapter scholarship awards:

  • Evin Ehrreich | Seymour
  • Holly Gordon | Columbus
  • Joana Samuely | Columbus

Membership in Sigma Theta Tau is an honor conferred to students in bachelor’s degree program who have demonstrated academic excellence. Graduate students who have demonstrated academic excellence and practicing RNs who have demonstrated excellence in leadership are also members.

For more information about the Division of Nursing at IUPUC, please visit ballen@iupuc.edu or call 812.348.7250.