CALL FOR NOMINATIONS:

2024 Edna V. Folger Outstanding Teacher Award

SIHO Insurance Services, the IUPUC Center for Teaching and Learning, and the Community Education Coalition are accepting nominations for the 2024 Edna V. Folger Outstanding Teacher Award. The award will be presented at the 2024 Columbus Area Chamber of Commerce Annual Meeting.

What is the Edna V. Folger Outstanding Teacher Award?

Edna Folger set the early standard for teachers. In her honor, the award was designed to raise awareness about the immeasurable influence teachers have on their students and to recognize the image of teachers as important community role models. Established by Arvin Industries and now sponsored by SIHO Insurance Services, the award includes a monetary stipend, an individual award from the IUPUC Center for Teaching and Learning, and the recipient's name will be added to a permanent plaque located in the Columbus Learning Center.

Who is eligible to receive the award?

Any full-time elementary or secondary school teacher or educator working at a public, private, or parochial school in Bartholomew County is eligible to receive the award. Classroom, special education, or special subject teachers; certified educators; counselors; and administrators are all eligible.

How do I nominate a teacher?

Any individual or group may nominate a classroom teacher or educator to receive this award. Nominations should include biographical information, reasons for nomination, letters of recommendation, and support materials. Nomination instructions are available from the IUPUC Center for Teaching and Learning, the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation Administrative Offices, and in the main office of schools throughout Bartholomew County. Nomination forms may also be downloaded at www.iupuc.edu/ctl/folger-award.

The deadline for nominations is 4 p.m. on Friday, January 19, 2024.

| Edna V. Folger Outstanding Teacher Award Recipients | | | | |
|---|--|--|------|--|
| 1983 | Shirley Lyster, Columbus North High School | | 2004 | Libby Arthur, Columbus North High School |
| 1984 | Marie Moore, Schmitt Elementary School | | 2005 | Jack P. Young, Columbus East High School |
| 1985 | Delores Strietelmeier, St. Peter's Lutheran School | | 2006 | Donna Nicholson, St. Bartholomew Catholic School |
| 1986 | Joseph F. Dutton, Columbus East High School | | 2007 | Denise Briner-Richardson, Columbus North High School |
| 1987 | Rachel Stoner, Columbus East High School | | 2008 | Linda Coggin, Lincoln Elementary School |
| 1988 | Mary Ann Heise, Columbus North High School | | 2009 | Lynn Sparks, Columbus Signature Academy-Lincoln |
| 1989 | Candace Taff Carr, Richards Elementary School | | 2010 | Kim Green, Columbus North High School |
| 1990 | Karen Lion, Northside Middle School | | 2011 | Janeen Blomenberg, Hauser JrSr. High School |
| 1991 | James Zeiger, Smith Elementary School | | 2012 | Mary Knight, Parkside Elementary School |
| 1992 | Eugene Foldenauer, Columbus North High School | | 2013 | Milly Harden, Richards Elementary School |
| 1993 | James L. Nay, Columbus East High School | | 2014 | Kathryn Strickland, Southside Elementary School |
| 1994 | Margaret Bottorff, Clifty Creek Elementary School | | 2015 | Tammie LeClerc, Northside Middle School |
| 1995 | Barbara Johnson, Hope Elementary School | | 2016 | Mike Riley, C4 Columbus Area Career Connection |
| 1996 | Janice Montgomery, Southside Elementary School | | 2017 | Kristen Chitty, Columbus Signature Academy - Fodrea |
| 1997 | Norma Flodder, McDowell Adult Education Center | | 2018 | Michelle Burnett, Columbus East High School |
| 1998 | Wanda Siebert, Hauser JrSr. High School | | 2019 | Karen Nading, Columbus East High School & C4 |
| 1999 | Connie Yeaton, Clifty Creek Elementary School | | 2020 | Lori Cash, Columbus Signature Academy-Lincoln |
| 2000 | Don Schmidt, Jefferson Education Center | | 2021 | Peggy Myers, Columbus East High School |
| 2001 | Greg Lewis, Columbus East High School | | 2022 | Jennifer Ryshavy, Taylorsville Elementary School |
| 2002 | Victor Fields, Columbus East High School | | 2023 | Angela Ginder, Rockcreek Elementary School |
| 2003 | Chuck Grimes, Southside Elementary School | | 2024 | |

Where can I obtain more information?

For more information, contact Marsha VanNahmen at 812.375.7576 or mvannahm@iupuc.edu or visit www.iupuc.edu/ctl/folger-award.





